Cluttered Closet = Cluttered Mind

I am getting ready for my 21-Day Meditation Challenge with Oprah and Dr. Deepak Chopra.  It begins tomorrow.

To prepare, there are(were) a few things I need(ed) to do:

I need a place where I can be alone and quiet.

The only place I would feel comfortable would be my closet.  That sounds funny but it’s a feel-good place and it’s quite spacious.  There’s just enough sunlight shining through from my bathroom window.

I had to do some work though.  My closet was a complete mess.  It was so cluttered.  I wouldn’t be able to meditate there because my mind would keep wandering off, thinking of the mess surrounding me.

Can’t be done.

The clutter had to go.

I can’t tell you how long it took me to clean it up.  It was so weird because I had such a hard time of letting go of some my clothes.

What’s that about?

I had to call my bff, Josie L, for support.  On more than one occasion, I may add.  After the third time, that was it, there was no turning back.

I added before and after pictures.  I can’t tell you how good it feels.  Clutter just brings you down.

Before

Before

After

After

Before

Before

After

After

Today, I will also be doing my 1-day detox.  Click here for my Simple One Day Detox.

Since I am in renewal-mode, I also decide to go see my other bff, Marie-Té, for a microdermabrasion (click here for info).  Last but not least, I am rewarding myself, for a job well done, with a body scrub.

This is the beginning of a new journey.  I turned 49 a couple of weeks ago and I want my journey leading up to my 50th to be different than my other birthdays.

8 thoughts on “Cluttered Closet = Cluttered Mind

  1. Seeing your closet inspired me to clean mine out too!! It’s definitely a long and hard process getting rid of clothes! (on my second day of cleaning but nowhere near being done, lol).
    I definitely agree with your renewal mode. It is a new year afterall. We must make it count!!
    Good job on your closet and inspiring outlook on life!!
    Xoxo – Nat

  2. Okay, I must confess. It took me three days to clean mine out!
    I don’t feel that bad anymore knowing that you are on your second day!!! Lol!!!
    Life is too short, we must make every day count :) xo <3

  3. hi Cupcakes!! Kudoos on your closet make over.Love the bfore & after pics. Great job!!!! and I m sure you feel amazing that you got the chance to do it. Closet cleaning & decluttering is invigorating and it puts a lot of things back into perspective such as simplicity and less is more!!!! thanks for sharing

Leave a Reply

