Remembering Our Loved Ones

Twenty years ago, two people who were very dear to me, my Grandmother and my Dad, passed away.

This year, I am mourning the loss of my Mother-in-Law and my friend, Nicole. They too were very dear to me.

My Dad died suddenly.  He had a heart attack.  I still remember that day and the days that followed.  It was hard on all of us.  I can say that after 20 years, I can finally talk about my Dad and not get emotional.  Maybe I can start a conversation but then change the subject.  Okay, I still get emotional.  Don’t put me in a room with my sister and my brother and start talking about our Dad.

My Grandmother suffered before she died.  She was diagnosed with ALS.  She slowly withered away.  Before she got ill, I went with her to a funeral.  We were sitting in the funeral home, to give our respects and she turns to me and whispers, “I don’t want to die.”  I started crying uncontrollably.  She looks at me and asks, ”What is wrong with you? Everyone is staring at us!”  I had to walk out.

My Mother-in-Law was diagnosed with dementia.  We placed her in a home where she too slowly withered away.  An active woman always attending her garden.

My friend, Nicole, never made it to her 50th birthday.  I am still disturbed with her passing.  She was the poster girl for what health is all about.  She walked every day.  Yoga.  Meditation.  A vegetarian.  She ate mostly organic foods.  Yet, cancer took her away from us. (see: For Nicole – not published, yet)

Four amazing people.  Rest in Peace.

5 thoughts on “Remembering Our Loved Ones

  1. Nickie,
    Strange how our paths have crossed….I too lost my best friend and soul mate 2 years ago today….. It was quite sudden and still surreal. I cannot believe he is not here anymore but believe his is watching over me. Just wish I had another day with him. Filled with passion and loaded with energy beyond reality, his life lasted a mere 45 years. What I take away from this is that life is short – let’s cherish every day and not fret over the petty stuff. Peace to all on earth and to those resting.

  2. Nickie,

    I am so sorry to hear of your losses. I wanted to share a song with you called “Jealous of the Angels” that will hopefully touch you and bring you some comfort like it has done for me.

    All the best,

    Lacey

Leave a Reply

