By Fluke…It’s National Non-Smoking Week!

With the New Year, one popular resolution is to quit smoking.  Reading the newspaper the other day, an article on smoking caught my eye.

“28 dying every day as fewer smokers quit”.

It also said…”It takes an average of 4 attempts to quit smoking for good”.

It’s true. Smokers should not get discouraged if they fail the first time or second time, etc….  I tried many times to quit.  It wasn’t easy.  I started smoking when I was 18.

Then the day finally came.  I couldn’t tell my boys that smoking was bad for them while a cigarette was dangling from my lips.  It just didn’t make any sense.  I really didn’t want my boys to start smoking because I knew that quitting would be so hard.

Plus, the price!  We were on a budget for everything but not for cigarettes.  I was smoking a pack a day.

I decided, the next time the price of cigarettes goes up, I’m quitting.

One evening, my husband came home from work and told me , “The cigarettes are going up to $6.00 tomorrow.”  That’s it no more smoking for me.  I finished the few I had left of course and then that was it.

Yes, I gained weight.  I gained about 20 lbs.  I wasn’t going to use that as an excuse.

Was I unbearable to live with?  Not sure.  I’m still unbearable to live with!  Lol!

I was finished with smoking this time and I wasn’t going to start.  No matter what! No more excuses.

I had heard after 3 weeks you’re good.  You are out of the danger zone.  No, it took a good 3 years for cigarettes to be out of my system.  Prior to that, I was still weak.  It was a conscious battle everyday not to smoke.

It can be done!

Leave a Reply

