Oven~Grilled Asparagus

I usually grill my asparagus on the barbeque but since our Winters are too cold, I always blanch my asparagus and then use them in an omelette.

The way I clean my Asparagus is as follows:

Still tied in their packaging, I trim the ends about ¼ inch, carefully remove the bottom elastic and let them sit upright in cold water for a day. I change the water 3-4 times.

The following day, I remove the remaining elastic and rinse them.  I hold the asparagus by the tip and then I snap off the ends.  This guarantees that you will not have any straw-tasting ends…

My cousin, Pina D, had me over for supper and made grilled asparagus in the oven.  I hope you will enjoy them this way as much as I did.  They were deee-lish!

Ingredients:

1 batch of Asparagus, cleaned Nickie’s way

Salt and pepper to taste

Onion powder to taste

Garlic powder to taste

Olive Oil

Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.  Spray baking sheet with no-stick spray.  Place asparagus in single layer.  Sprinkle remaining ingredients onto the asparagus.  Roll the asparagus to make sure all sides are well coated.

Place in oven 10 minutes.  Roll the asparagus around.  Place another 10 minutes or until the tips look slightly burnt.  Serve at room temperature.

3 thoughts on “Oven~Grilled Asparagus

  1. Cupcake,
    Recipe sounds delish….. I will try this week…considering after all the lamb, chocolate and food I had during Easter… I will be on greens for the next few weeks!!!

    thanks for the recipe idea!!
    Annushka xoxo

Leave a Reply

