Fresh Garlic, Green Beans and Baby Potatoes …..& The Results

The results are in:  Thank you everyone who took the time to write in.  I had a great time reading your comments.

To my surprise, no one mentioned that I cut my hair.  I will get a trim, just to cut off the split ends, and add highlights.

This fall, like everyone suggested, I will definitely go darker.  I’ll post pictures on my “Treasure Tuesday” page in the coming weeks.

Went to the farmer’s market and picked up green beans and fresh garlic.  Nothing beats the taste of fresh produce!  Yum!

A couple of years ago, my Mom, Nonna Gina, who just celebrated her 79th Birthday, came over and surprised me with this dish.

“Wow, this is really good!” I said.  She insisted that we practically grew up on it.  What?

Seriously, I have no recollection of it.

My theory is that it was so good, I guess, the adults kept it for themselves! Lol!

No matter, my boys love it.  Excellent dish for kids…even with the cayenne.  Anything to get extra greens!

It can be eaten hot or at room temperature.

Ingredients:

¾ lb green beans, stems removed

3 garlic cloves, minced

14 baby potatoes, peeled and halved

¼ cup olive oil

pinch of cayenne or to taste

1 tsp paprika

salt, to taste

In a large pot, bring salted water to a boil.  Add potatoes and boil for 10 minutes.  Add green beans and boil 15 minutes more.

Drain the potatoes and green beans keeping some of the boiled water.  Empty into a serving bowl.

In a small sauce pan, slowly brown the garlic in olive oil.  Add the cayenne and season with a pinch of salt.  Once the garlic is golden, remove from heat and pour over your potatoes and green beans.

Carefully, give it a good stir, sprinkle the paprika and serve!

2 thoughts on “Fresh Garlic, Green Beans and Baby Potatoes …..& The Results

Leave a Reply

